Tough Skin First-Page Critique: Notes from the OC Christian Writers Conference 2012

The first line of a story is a promise. It evokes emotions and images and sets the mood and pace for your story. It sets the scene. The first page of a story needs to include the seminal event that makes everything else happen. There should be lots of action, doing, and movement—with very little explanation.

So began Andy Meisenheimer’s Tough Skin Critique on Friday evening, May 18, 2012. Thirteen first-pages were submitted by attendees; six were anonymously evaluated during the session. About 20 people were in attendance.

After the first critique, my page appeared on the big screen. My heart pounded, slow and big. My face burned. There was my first page, which up until now had been seen only by my husband, another writer (Hi C.B!), and my critique group.

I scribbled in my notebook while Andy critiqued my page. It was priceless advice. I want to share it here with you.

Ten-year-old Carrie Blanco awoke to a sharp pain deep in her core. [Too abstract. Concrete language is better than abstract language. Describe the sharp pain. What does it feel like? Give us something to compare the pain to.] She heard the familiar sounds of frogs croaking in the distance. The whisper of the breeze rustled through the trees outside. [Set the scene. Use small, specific, concrete, salient details. “Frogs and breeze” is too generic, too grand, too plural. It should be singular. A frog. A branch. Evoke large scenes through small details, details that reflect on the inner perspective of the character. Don’t use happy details with a creepy story. Evoke creepiness.] She opened her eyes to discover it was still dark out. Trying to relieve her discomfort, she rolled over to find a more comfortable position, rusty springs groaning beneath her as she moved. Feeling the chill of the night air, she reached for the flap of her sleeping bag and realized she was lying uncovered on top of a slippery mattress. Odd.

“Lacey?” she whispered, trying not to wake the other campers sleeping nearby. “My tummy hurts.”

Her camp counselor didn’t reply.

“Ladybug?” She tried using her sister’s camp name, slightly louder this time. [Don’t over explain. Let the reader wonder who Ladybug is.]

No response. Nor could she hear the rhythmic breathing or snoring from her fellow campers—a distraction that had kept her awake the first few nights in the cabin. Other than the forest sounds outside, all she could hear was something scratching and scuffing along the floor. Mice.

“Oh gross. Lacey? Where are you? Stop playing!”

Nothing. In the darkness, she gradually became aware of [Remove “she gradually became aware of. The way it’s written shows too much distance.]  the smell of wet green things and a sickly sweet odor she couldn’t identify. She sat up. Why is my dress torn? She wasn’t wearing her pajamas. It was the sundress she had worn over her green tankini swimsuit yesterday. The dress felt askew, and she gasped when she realized [Remove “when she realized.” Again, too much distance] she was no longer wearing the swimsuit bottoms. The skin on her legs felt sticky and tight, just like her palms felt when she and Sarah smeared Elmer’s glue on each other’s hands. They would let it dry, and then peel it off all in one piece. [These last 2 sentences SING. If everything before it could mimic these 2 lines, I’d be sold.]

Overall comments from Andy Meisenheimer:
We need to be placed into this scene in such a way that it’s just as disorienting for us as it is for Carrie. Don’t over explain. RESIST THE URGE TO EXPLAIN!!! Let the reader wonder. Go down to the bare bones. Don’t give all the details. Don’t explain who Ladybug is – that it’s a camp name. Think about how this scene would be filmed. You’d see the gross things around her. Don’t tell the reader everything. It would be more intriguing with fewer details. Be as visceral as possible. This is a traumatic moment for her. The way it’s written shows too much distance (e.g. “she realized”). Have her touch and smell things. You want the reader to know nothing. You want them to know just enough to feel something, to want to know more. Think in terms of cinema; screenwriting. Simple language is good.

After this session, I participated in a critique session with five other writers. Here are some of their comments about my first chapter. (Ryan K. Stansifer and Michelle Massaro, I’m GRATEFUL for your constructive, insightful input!)

  • It’s vivid.
  • Horrific. It’s a horror story. I can barely stand it.
  • Is this really where you want the book to start? I care about the character just because she’s a little girl, but I don’t know her well enough to be invested in her.
  • Reconsider the genre (I told them this is women’s Christian contemporary fiction)
  • Don’t name the emotions. Have something physical happen to show the emotions.
  • Don’t tell what doesn’t happen; e.g. “Her camp counselor didn’t reply” and “no response.” Say what does happen.
  • Simplify word choices. Remove “ly” words.
  • When possible, use 1 word instead of 2.
  • Two people said, “I wouldn’t keep reading.”
  • One person said, “This isn’t a Christian novel.” (This one irked me. It is most certainly a Christian novel. Faith and hope sustain the family through this crisis… it’s not going to be overt in the first chapter.)
  • Review similar books: The Lovely Bones and Peace Like a River. Those books don’t show the rape; they’re more subtle. (Mine doesn’t show the actual rape, so I didn’t understand this comment.)
  • Read The Art of Fiction and go to the section “The 7 mistakes young writers make”
  • RUE: Resist the Urge to Explain

I must admit, it was a tough evening. The critique session didn’t end until 11:30pm. During the one-hour drive home, I was feeling pretty discouraged. When I told my husband about the strong, negative reaction by the critique group, he said, “That’s good honey! It should upset them. You got a reaction from them, and that’s good writing.”

I told him that two times, people said I need to Resist the Urge to Explain. He laughed. He knows me. It’s one of my biggest faults – trying to explain myself and wanting to be understood. I guess I still have some inner work to do, too.

Little did I know, twenty-four hours later I would be flying high on encouragement, inspiration, and confirmation that my story is good and needs to be finished. More in future posts. 🙂

Would you be willing to share the first sentence of your novel? If so, please comment.

All posts from the OC Christian Writers Conference 2012:

Leave a comment

43 Comments

  1. Sounds like you were riding a roller coaster that weekend. Reading about your experience has increased my desire to attend a writer’s conferences, even though I know it will be hard. I’ll be taking your advice, for sure, as I prep for next year.

    Your first page: It was tough for me to read, but I understand that’s what you want to evoke from the reader. Will you be writing from her point of view through the whole novel?

    Reply
  2. Roller coaster is the perfect metaphor. It was crazy. I’m glad these posts are getting you excited to go to a conference. Now that I’ve been to one, I’ve got to go at least annually. It’s a shot of adrenalin, that’s for sure!

    Thanks for your input on my first page. It’s the prologue, and chapter 1 starts several months before this incident. During the critique session, it was suggested that I reconsider the placement of this scene; perhaps make it the climax of the story. He said he cared about Carrie just because she’s a child in a horrific situation – but wants to know more about the character. I’m giving it some thought.

    The rest of the story is written in first person from Carrie’s Mom’s POV.

    Reply
  3. Those critique sessions can be harsh. When I run them, I have a rule for the fellow writers—only express emotions and feelings. No solutions or rules or “don’t” phrases. Only express your experience.

    For credit where it is due, “Resis the urge to explain” is from Renni Browne and Dave King’s excellent Self-Editing for Fiction Writers. It’s not mine. I just use it or a variation of it often.

    Reply
    • Thanks for stopping by, Andy! Thanks for the quote credit info – I’ve updated the graphic to give proper credit and added a link to the book on Amazon. (I really need to purchase that book!)

      Your tough skin critique was my favorite session of the weekend. Selfishly, because I got your professional feedback on my first page, but I also learned SO much from your comments on the other writers’ first pages. I hope you’ll do it again at the conference next year!!!

      At the beginning of your session, you shared your favorite first line ever (you had it memorized). Could you share that with me here? I wish I could have scribbled it down. : )

      BTW, after updating my prologue to reflect your input, I’ve submitted my first 2500 words to your cohorts at The Editorial Department (the prize for being one of the 3rd place winners in the Fiction Writing Contest). Can’t wait to learn how I can improve my work more. 🙂

      THANK YOU!!!

      Reply
  4. It’s from Hey Nostradamus by Douglas Coupland. I’ll let you look it up.

    I hope to do more tough-skinned and rogue critique groups next year. They are a blast.

    Reply
    • Thanks Andy! Found it easily… 🙂

      For the rest of us, here’s the very first line of Hey Nostradamus, by Douglas Coupland

      “I believe that what separates humanity from everything else in the world – spaghetti, binder paper, deep-sea creatures, edelweiss and Mount McKinley – is that humanity alone has the capacity at any given moment to commit all possible sins.”

      Reply
  5. It’s enormous that you are getting ideas from this paragraph as well as from our argument made
    at this place.

    Reply
  6. Good day! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if
    that would be ok. I’m absolutely enjoying your blog and look forward to new updates.

    Reply
  7. Fantastic post but I was wanting to know if you could write a litte more
    on this subject? I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate a little bit more.
    Many thanks!

    Reply
  8. Fantastique information, Un grand merci.

    Reply
  9. Hi, I think your site might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your website in Ie, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.
    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, very good blog!

    Reply
  10. Fantastic goods from you, man. I have understand
    your stuff previous to and you’re just too excellent.
    I actually like what you’ve acquired here, certainly like
    what you’re stating and the way in which you say it. You make it
    entertaining and you still care for to keep it sensible.
    I can’t wait to read much more from you.
    This is really a great website.

    Reply
  11. The hydrolysis of hippurate liberates two major end products,
    glycine and benzoic acid. The usual contact is always to get
    a grip of current smooth belonging to the bulb instead of the
    practiced current. I found a vendor that supplies me with a very high grade, faceted, hand cut crystal to use instead
    of diamonds and I use a lot of gem quality faceted stones, which
    gives Gotroxx pieces the refractive quality that has become a distinction for my jewelry.

    Reply
  12. Wonderful website you have here but I was curious if you
    knew of any user discussion forums that cover the same topics discussed in this article?
    I’d really like to be a part of community where I can get feedback from other experienced individuals that share the same interest.
    If you have any recommendations, please let me know.
    Thank you!

    Reply
  13. The Invisible Fence brand also donates items for the
    dog he has engaged in a day, this will have to train him if he
    becomes comfortable with relieving on leash, and took off running.
    Foothills Animal Shelter at 580 McIntyre Street, Golden, CO,
    80401. Tags: Cat foods shop, dog maskThe first when your
    dog and the names of anyone coming with you. Classes are puppy training offered Wednesday evenings.
    Here is a very basic reasons for wanting to please you.

    Reply
  14. It is really a nice and useful piece of info. I’m happy that you
    just shared this helpful info with us. Please stay us up to date
    like this. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  15. Thanks for sharing your thoughts about bladder. Regards

    Reply
  16. Find out how gas exoplanets form a sphere along with help through an experienced mentor in this totally free video
    clip. Clearing Space on an iPhone.

    Reply
  17. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting
    my own weblog and was curious what all is needed to get set up?
    I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?
    I’m not very web savvy so I’m not 100% certain. Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Many thanks

    Reply
  18. I think the admin of this site is really working
    hard for his web page, as here every stuff is quality based material.

    Reply
  19. If you are going for most excellent contents like I do, just pay a quick visit
    this web site daily as it offers feature contents,
    thanks

    Reply
  20. Oh my goodness! Awesome article dude! Thank you so much, However I am having problems with your RSS.
    I don’t understand why I am unable to join it. Is there anyone else having similar RSS issues?
    Anybody who knows the answer can you kindly respond? Thanx!!

    Reply
  21. Este un exercițiu bun de urmat , împreună cu , în orice
    moment un copywriter SEO .

    Reply
  22. For much more particulars on the apps, you can go to
    iTunes and see which ones you like. Yes! jailbreak is a simple and secure too.
    You can get all of this and much more with jailbreak.

    Reply
  23. There’s certainly a great deal to learn about this issue.
    I love all the points you have made.

    Reply
  24. I don’t know if it’s just me or if perhaps everyone else experiencing
    issues with your website. It seems like some of the text on your
    content are running off the screen. Can somebody else please provide feedback and let me know if this
    is happening to them as well? This could be a issue with my
    browser because I’ve had this happen previously.
    Kudos

    Reply
  25. Vous avez mentionné ceci adéquatement.

    Reply
  26. Hi just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know a few
    of the pictures aren’t loading correctly. I’m not sure
    why but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two
    different web browsers and both show the same results.

    Reply
  27. Right now it seems like Drupal is the top blogging platform available right now.
    (from what I’ve read) Is that what you’re using on your blog?

    Reply
  28. Hello to all, since I am in fact keen of reading this website’s post to be updated regularly.

    It includes nice material.

    Reply
  29. Greetings! I know this is somewhat off topic but
    I was wondering if you knew where I could get a captcha plugin for my comment form?

    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having
    difficulty finding one? Thanks a lot!

    Reply
  30. What you wrote made a bunch of sense. But, what about this?
    suppose you added a little information? I ain’t saying your content is not good.,
    but what if you added a post title to possibly grab people’s attention? I mean Tough Skin First-Page Critique: Notes from the
    OC Christian Writers Conference 2012 | Natalie Sharpston is a little boring.

    You might glance at Yahoo’s home page and see how they create post headlines to grab viewers to
    click. You might add a video or a pic or two to grab people
    interested about what you’ve written. In my opinion, it might
    make your posts a little bit more interesting.

    Reply
  31. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation however I find this matter to be actually
    something which I think I’d never understand. It seems too complex
    and extremely vast for me. I am taking a look forward on your subsequent post,
    I will try to get the dangle of it!

    Reply
  32. Greetings from Florida! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to browse your
    blog on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the info you provide
    here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at
    how quick your blog loaded on my cell phone ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, wonderful site!

    Reply
  33. Beautifully designed silver rings or pendants can make perfect gifts for the women you want to impress with remarkable and exquisite gifts.
    Archangel Raphael, whose name means, God Heals, will assist you in reaching through the fear of what is now behind you, seeing beyond surface appearances,
    healing on all levels. Begin to transfer the white light from your crown,
    down through the chakras, and through your legs,
    out the roots, and into the earth.

    Reply
  34. Există mai multe site-uri de marcare semnificative , cum ar fi căutarea
    , gustoase care vă pot ajuta pentru a îmbunătăți traficul .

    Aici este cea mai bună tehnică pentru încorporarea cuvinte cheie sau fraze
    cheie în articolul dumneavoastră .

    Reply
  35. Normally, gamers can live in the United States. Joined APSense since, July 2006.
    Many argue that video games investigated how violent video game titles have been conditioned to seeing what Toys R
    Us Facebook page with links to check out. Creating a good source for PC,
    Sega, Commodore Sixty four, 256 as well. Everybody will definitely
    cost far lesser boom beach hack than the average player is done with a question on Twitter so you can play all
    at the link of these features also.

    Reply
  36. You could get it on developers setting their budgets and sales expectations too
    high. Video Games and video capabilities, especially for
    monetizing games for an app store and installed this game soon. So, accept the challenges and also the benefits like convenience, mobile phone has no way out by games have brought a lot of title presently available consist of
    angry birds friends cheat a combat with your friends too.

    Reply
  1. Preparing for my first writers conference « Natalie Sharpston
  2. Insecure Writer Gets a Boost: Notes from the OC Christian Writers Conference 2012 « Natalie Sharpston
  3. Advice from Rachelle Gardner: Notes from the OC Christian Writers Conference 2012 « Natalie Sharpston
  4. Saying Yes to God: Notes from the OC Christian Writers Conference 2012 « Natalie Sharpston
  5. Editing & Motivation: Notes from the OC Christian Writers Conference 2012 « Natalie Sharpston

Leave a Reply

