Saying Yes to God: Notes from the OC Christian Writers Conference 2012

When a prolific author and filmmaker told his audience of writers: “The key to my success is I’m a crybaby, a coward, and a moron,” I was encouraged because hey, that sounds like me! And look what he was able to do with his life!

Bill Myers gave the opening address, “Availability to your Call: What Can Happen When You Say Yes to God” at the OC Christian Writers Conference on Friday, May 18, 2012. He told us that as a young adult, he decided to never say no to God, no matter how embarrassed, humiliated, or stupid he felt—even when it didn’t make sense.

He talked about a survey that was taken at an old folks’ home about their regrets. Top regrets were “I wish I’d have taken more chances,” and “I wish I’d have done things of eternal value.”

“Why waste your life doing it your way?” He asked. “You don’t have to be smart, creative or even a very good Christian. You just have to say yes.”

Bill leads youth group at his church and likes to use visual aids. He poured a little bit of water into a cup. “Most people are satisfied with just a little bit of water. But what if…” he poured water into the cup until it was overflowing into a bowl, “what if you allowed yourself to be poured out. He pours in, I pour out. The more I pour out, the more he pours in. How would you like to live like that?”

It was like being a kid at Bible camp again, getting an infusion of encouragement and inspiration. In Christian-speak, the writing conference was a “mountaintop experience,” one I could already tell will sustain me in the weeks and months to come when I find myself in the dark valleys of the writing life.

It was a phenomenal weekend and I’ll be sharing what I learned over the next several posts.

All posts from the OC Christian Writers Conference 2012:

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Can’t wait to hear more! Have you read any of Myers’ books? The God Haters sounds interesting.

    Reply
    • I haven’t yet! But I definitely will. I bought his book “Eli” at the conference – “Who would follow Christ if he came today? Who would kill him?” God Haters does sound super interesting. All of his books do, now that I know about his work! 🙂

      Reply
  2. Great post! I’m also looking forward to reading your highlights all week. It was fabulous meeting you there, Natalie! =)

    Reply
  1. Editing & Motivation: Notes from the OC Christian Writers Conference 2012 « Natalie Sharpston
  2. Tough Skin First-Page Critique: Notes from the OC Christian Writers Conference 2012 « Natalie Sharpston
  3. Preparing for my first writers conference « Natalie Sharpston
  4. Insecure Writer Gets a Boost: Notes from the OC Christian Writers Conference 2012 « Natalie Sharpston

Leave a Reply

