Using Pinterest to Pump Your Platform

A fellow graphic designer recently introduced me to Pinterest.com. It’s the perfect time suck for creatives. In just the past few days, I decided to start posting my favorite quotes using some simple, minimalist typography. It’s shocking how many “repins” and “likes” I’m getting – just for two pieces. Just an hour ago on the WordServe Water Cooler blog, Lucille Zimmerman posted: Using Pinterest to Pump Your Platform. Great timing. Check it out! She explains Pinterest perfectly. Many of us writers are very creative in lots of other ways, whether its crafting, sewing, painting, etc. Share your stuff, just for the fun of it! And it may just lead to more awareness of your name and your website.

WordServe Water Cooler

Pinta-rest.

My 23-year-old daughter claims I say it wrong.

“Mom, it’s pin plus interest. It’s pronounced pin-trist, not pinta-rest.”

It’s an awkward name.

I’d been hearing about Pinterest for months but had no reason to learn how to pronounce it correctly. I didn’t have time for a silly little social media site where people look at photos of puppies, share recipes, and plan weddings.

But social media guru Ingrid Schneider told me it might be a good way to market my book. Surpisingly I got hooked.

Now I’m convinced every author should consider Pinterest as a potential marketing tool.

What is Pinterest? In simple terms, Pinterest is a virtual bulletin board. Instead of using words or tweets, people simply create bulletin boards and pin photos to the boards. Others stop by to see what they’ve pinned. If they like it they re-pin the images on their bulletin boards.

What…

View original post 719 more words

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Thanks for sharing this. I’ve been seeing the word around and have been pronouncing it the three syllable way. So funny. I like the story line suggestion in the Water Cooler post. Not sure what I could share, but it does look like Pinterest could be fun.

    Reply
    • It is fun, but the time! It does take time. But sometimes, you don’t want to write, you don’t want to read, you don’t want to watch TV, you don’t want to be social – you just want to look at pictures that inspire you. For that, it’s fabulous. 🙂 Even if you don’t contribute, you can “repin” or “like” and it allows your followers to see a bit more of your personality.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

