Wisdom Squared: Ronald Reagan

A couple of years ago, my husband and I spent a day at the Ronald Reagan Presidential Library in Simi Valley, California. I was a teenager during Reagan’s presidency and didn’t pay much attention to national or world events. After a one-day history lesson twenty years after his last day in office, I was even more proud of our country, of this man, and of all that was accomplished during his presidency.

We watched footage of the assassination attempt on his life, walked Air Force One, read his comforting words to the nation after the Challenger space shuttle disaster, and touched a piece of the Berlin wall against the backdrop of his words:

“General Secretary Gorbachev, if you seek peace, if you seek prosperity for the Soviet Union and Eastern Europe, if you seek liberalization: Come here to this gate! Mr. Gorbachev, open this gate! Mr. Gorbachev, tear down this wall!'”

My only souvenir from that day, besides lots of photos, was a leather bookmark with a Ronald Reagan quote: “Trust, but verify.”

I love quotes—those nuggets of truth that convey vast wisdom in just a few words. The quote is the first in my “wisdom squared” typography series. I’ll be posting them on Pinterest.com/nsharpston and here on my blog. Enjoy.

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. I’ve been to the Ronald Reagan library as well. Nothing like being inside the actual Air Force One from his day and the exhibits were outstanding. My favorite part of my visit was touching the piece of the Berlin Wall that stands out in the garden. In fact, I wrote a post about it too. 🙂

    Thanks for sharing. Ronald Reagan was an excellent president. We’d be lucky to find another like him today.

    Reply
    • Thanks Wendy! I totally agree. : ) We haven’t seen quite such a class act in the office of the President since then. Thanks for your comment. 🙂

      Reply
  2. I wrote a letter to Reagan while attending UCSB in the 80’s. An anti-nuke lecture I attended terrified me and I feared for my future. I told him I didn’t want to bring children into the world because there seemed to be no hope. He wrote back. I received his encouraging words on his Office of the President letterhead (I lost the letter a few years later — water damage in storage). I don’t remember exactly what he said, but I do know that he mentioned God, that he said he trusted the American people, and that his words caused me to change political parties. A few years later I became a Christian. I got married, had one child, and that child was born on February 6 — Ronald Reagan’s birthday!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

