Sharing the love: Kreativ Blogger award

While my blog was on hiatus, one of my favorite fellow bloggers—Darla McDavid of Darla Writes—honored me with a Kreativ Blogger award.  Thank you, Darla!

Darla’s reason for giving me the award? I was one of her first followers. Isn’t that cool? Even while my blog was in hibernation, she still acknowledged me. It’s what I love about the online writing community. We support each other. We cheer each other on. We show appreciation when others take the time to read our posts.

When you are lucky enough to receive a Kreativ Blogger award, here’s what you’re supposed to do next…

The Rules
(From Art Marketing Secrets, which Darla linked to in her Kreativ Blogger post.) Kreativ Blogger originated in May 2008 in a post by Huldas Verden. The Kreativ Blogger award comes with the following requirements:

  • You must thank the person who has given you the award.
  • Copy the logo and place it on your blog.
  • Link the person who has nominated you for the award.
  • Name 7 things about yourself that people might find interesting.
  • Nominate 7 other Kreativ Bloggers.
  • Post links to the 7 blogs you nominate.
  • Leave a comment on each of the blogs to let them know they have been nominated.

Here are 7 things about me you may find interesting…

1. I have sailed across the Pacific Ocean in a 42-foot sailboat with four family members.

2. I am 42 years old, and I am only slightly embarrassed to say that I love Party in the USA by Miley Cyrus. It’s just fun!

3. I’m a Mac lover; I can tolerate PC when the situation requires it (which is almost never).

4. I love listening to audio books during my commute. My recent favorite: Austenland by Shannon Hale. If you’re a Jane Austen fan, you’ll love it. Just hilarious. Keri Russell is starring in the movie adaptation coming out this year!

5. I’ve been a graphic designer for 15 years. I used to love doing all manner of arts and crafts, but now that I can design digitally, I don’t have the patience for it!

6. I’m working on losing a bunch of weight and head to the gym 3-5 times a week—which really cuts into my writing time, but my health is more important.

Sunset Near Lands End, Cornwall England. Thomas Moran.

7. My favorite artist is Thomas Moran. My Mom and I used to frequent garage sales when I was a child. At one of them, I discovered a miniature reproduction of this painting — it was on heavy card stock and had been torn out of a 1910 calendar. After spending 25 cents (or two bits, as my Mom used to say), I became the proud owner; it has hung on the wall of every place I’ve lived.

My 7 Kreativ Blogger nominations

1. Darla Writes  Is it totally cheating to nominate my nominator for the same award? Oh well! Darla’s blog is organized, clean and easy to navigate. Her thoughtful, well-researched posts inform and inspire. What sets her blog apart from the rest is a clear focus: “I want to take advantage of today’s best devices, tools, and techniques in order to have my writings positively noticed in this fast-tech world.”

2. C.B. Wentworth  C.B. is a tenacious writer and a consummate creative. Whether she’s sharing a poem, a short story, a page out of her Wreck This Journal book, or a dream board, she is an inspiration. I love the organization and content of her site; there is so much to explore.

3.  David Kazzie  David Kazzie achieved all kinds of notoriety with his So You Want to Write a Novel video. (It’s hilarious. You. Must. Watch. It.)  Riding the momentum of the video’s success, he decided to self-publish his novel last year: The Jackpot. It’s fascinating to follow his publishing journey and what he’s learning along the way. Being the occasional coward that I am, I like to watch other people tackle challenges before I take the risk myself. 🙂 Thanks for showing the way, David!

4. Lauren F. Boyd Lauren’s blog is about her pathway to publication. She is a children’s writer who is making great progress in her career. She has garnered contracts with a couple of well-known magazines and is getting her stories and articles published. She does her homework on the publishing industry and shares what she’s learning.

5.  Nancy S. Thompson Nancy comes across as a sweet, smart person who is seriously dedicated to her writing, her blog and her followers. Every time I swoop in on her site, I learn something or am inspired. And how can you not be drawn in by her blog’s subhead: “A writer’s hopeful journey into the world of traditional publishing.  Good stuff.”

6.  The Jaime Wright Report  Jaime’s site is beautifully designed using tactile graphic elements, such as curling paper, masking tape, pencils and paper clips—a difficult look to achieve on the web. It’s a pleasure to look at and more importantly, to read. She is also a Christian and I enjoy seeing how she merges her writing with her faith.

7. Amy K. Sorrells: Words of Hope for a Hurting World I meant to limit the nominations to new, semi-unpublished writers. However, there is one writer with a long list of publishing credits who consistently blogs in such a way that I feel God is trying to tell me something through her. Amy’s got that special, indefinable quality in her writing. It’s the voice. Yep. The voice. It is crystal clear.

Who would you nominate for the Kreativ Blogger award?

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Wow, Natalie, thank you so incredibly much for this! I’m so grateful. Praying abundant blessings over you today!!!

    Reply
  2. Hi Natalie! I hope things are going well with you and your writing!

    Thank you for choosing my blog as one to receive the Kreativ Blogger Award! Of all the terrific blogs out there, I am flattered and excited (and humbled) that you chose mine. Thank you, too, for the kind words you said about me and my work.

    I look forward to displaying the award on my blog with thanks to you!

    Thanks again!

    Reply
    • Lauren, thanks for your comment! You’ve come across as so humble and so hard working as you perfect your craft. You’ve had an impact on me!

      Reply
  3. Aw, thanks, Natalie! You are so very kind! This is one award I haven’t received yet. I have a busy week ahead but I’ll get to it later next week. And I’ll make sure to check out your other recipients, too! Thanks again!!

    Reply
  4. What a nice surprise. Thank you. Your other recipients sound wonderful, so I will be sure to visit their sites. Looking forward to your weekly posts!

    Reply
  5. Congrats! I love that you’ve added screenshots of the nominated blogs, it looks great!

    Reply
  6. Natalie! Awesome!! Thanks so much – I’ll reference this on my blog this week! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

