The Hidden Power of Fiction

I am fascinated by what can be accomplished through fiction – the messages that can be conveyed, the hope that can be imparted. After I read a Dean Koontz book, I always feel encouraged that, even though evil is alive and present, good always wins in the end. After reading a book by Francine Rivers – I just finished Her Mother’s Hope and Her Daugher’s Dream – I am reminded of how imperfectly we love each other but how God can restore relationships through the miracle of forgiveness.

WeedsJesus was able to get through to people using parables – stories that convey an important lesson or concept without being an outright sermon.

I did some weeding yesterday. Weeds take root in the most inhospitable places – tiny crevices in the concrete next to the foundation of the house, cracks in the driveway. I pulled up as much of the weeds as I could, then sprayed Roundup on what remained. It made me think about the Parable of the Sower. In Matthew 13, after Jesus tells the story to the crowds…

10 The disciples came to him and asked, “Why do you speak to the people in parables?”

11 He replied, “Because the knowledge of the secrets of the kingdom of heaven has been given to you, but not to them. 12 Whoever has will be given more, and they will have an abundance. Whoever does not have, even what they have will be taken from them. 13 This is why I speak to them in parables:

“Though seeing, they do not see;
though hearing, they do not hear or understand.

It’s a mighty undertaking, but my goal in tackling fiction is to both entertain and provide some a nugget of truth that will encourage the reader and enrich their life and faith.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

